Wedding Card – Timi Konya

Hi Everyone,

It is Timi here today to share how I created a card for a friend who just got married. She is Hungarian like myself and got married to and English guy in Hungary. I thought it would be nice to bring something Hungarian into to the card I was going to make for them. So this picture was my inspiration. This is from a Hungarian folk tale program on TV from my childhood. They told all kinds of folk tales to children and they used patterns from folk art.

maygarnepmesek

 

I used two cutfiles that I found in the Silhouette store. They were very similar in style and I only needed a little bit of adjustment to create my project.

These are the files:

Screenshot 2014-07-01 09.19.38

 

I used the Eraser function in Silhouette Studio to erase the dashed lines and the semi-circle. I wanted to lengthen my card base so I can fold it into three.

Screenshot 2014-07-01 09.20.42

I also added two dashed lines where I wanted my card to be folded. It was now approximately 5″ x11 “. I sent this to the Silhouette to cut it out from red card stock. I also cut out the ‘bird and heart’ motif and the lace design from white card stock.

Then I used the sketch pen in my Cameo to create the inside of the card. I used red to draw the ‘bird and heart’ motif again and black for the text.

Screenshot 2014-07-01 09.45.14

When it was ready I cut it out in a square shape to fit the card base.

At this stage I was ready to assemble the card.

DSCN2441

 

I adhered the square with text to the inside of the card.

DSCN2443

 

Then I added the white lace die cut to the front bottom panel and the bird die cut to the front top panel.

DSCN2444

DSCN2447

 

Finally I added some bakers twine to keep the card together.

DSCN2448

This was a really fun project to create and I was so very pleased that I could personalize and modify a cutfile to achieve a card that I imagined.

If you don’t have a Silhouette Cameo, you can still create a similar project with border punches and stamps.

I hope you like this tutorial and we hope you share some of your wedding projects with us on our Facebook page.

 

Crafting Ireland Team

 

Categories: craft | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.