12 Tags of Christmas – It begins!!

Its officially Christmas – the Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas has started! I managed to do all 12 tags last year, and I loved the challenge of it. I had barely any of the supplies but I managed to improvise a lot. To me that was a lot of the fun – using what I had in new ways to try and achieve something similar to Tim!

This year I am going to try complete all 12 tags again. Timi is going to try and join in too. We would love for you all to join us. Post your tags onto our facebook page or email a picture of it in to us. For anyone who shares some of their tags with us you will go into a draw. For what I hear you say? Well Create with Kate is kindly sponsoring a Tim Holtz prize for this challenge, so well worth trying even just one tag. We will pick a winner by the 14th of December so you will have time to do at least one tag 🙂 To win post up a picture of your tag and make sure you are a follower of the Create With Kate blog!

Ok, now on to the tag…you can see Tim’s Day 1 tag here. 

I will let you in on a secret on how I do my tags. I look at Tim’s tag. I read how he did it, if he used a new technique etc. I then take out a piece of paper and close off the image of Tim’s tag. I then sketch out what I can remember of the tag, including making notes of the technique. I then list out what I have that I can use to get a similar effect.

So here is my day 1 tag:

So how did I improvise? Well if you read Tim’s description on how he did his background you will find mine is a lot different. I inked up a snowflake embossing folder’s negative side with a pearl paint dabber. I then embossed my core’dinations tag. I sanded my snowflakes and inked them up a bit. Not all the shimmer of the background came out so well in the photo but it is a great effect in real life.

I die cut a flourish, the word NOEL (made on my eCraft), cut the leaves (eCraft but you can use a die or hand cut), and hand cut the music paper banner (printed antique sheet music paper!). I didnt have a pine cone die. So I improvised and added a G45 metal flower and pinned it on with a red brad for a bit of extra colour. Oh the glitter. Oh boy the glitter. I was a tad impatient waiting for the mod podge to dry so started to work with the glittered word before it was fully dry. Now I sparkle as much as the letters, as does my house, and even my rabbits!!

So there you have it, day 1 tag. It looks a lot different from Tim’s. But isn’t that the beauty of art. It is all about your interpretation and what you create is never wrong just because it doesn’t match someone else’s!

Timi has also created a tag for day 1:

To create the pine cone Timi very cleverly used Spellbinders Blossom 2 dies. She found that the shape of the petals are similar to the Tim Holtz pine cone die.   Here is her beautiful tag:

How adorable and clever are her pine cones!!

Roll on day 2!!

Supplies

If you do have to purchase anything for your tags Create With Kate supplies the following from Tims tag creation:

craft sheet, distress ink/frayed burlap/iced spruce (winter seasonal set), embossing ink, embossing powder/white, white acrylic paint, ink blending tool, glossy accents, distress stickles/rock candy, heat tool;  dies, festive greenery/tattered banners, vagabond; findings, jump rings, vintage ribbon, lost & found paper stash, scissors; glitter.

Categories: craft, Information | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas – It begins!!

  1. Jeanette

    They are absolutely gorgeous. Well done, I love them
    Jeanette x

  2. Great tags, love how each of you used what you have to get wonderful interpretation of Tim’s tags. Looking forward to seeing more, best wishes, Geraldine.

