Altered Suitcase – Timi Konya

Hi everyone,

Today Timi is going to show you a little summer/wedding project. I decorated this suitcase to place wedding present gift card and a little mini album into it.

What you will need:

  • paper mache suitcase
  • patterned paper ( I used G45 Tropical Travelogue papers)
  • Inks, stains and paints

Step 1

Take the suitcase and colour it with distress stain ( walnut Stain). Leave the corners and the strips uncoloured.

Step 2

Colour the strips and corners with Broken China Distress Stain. When it has dried cover it with crackle paint to achieve an aged effect.

Step 3

Cut out leaves from the patterned paper. Ink the edges and wrinkle each leaf for the 3D effect. Arrange the leaves and glue them onto the top of the suitcase. You can also add a little map and other interesting details from the patterned paper.

Step 4

Open the suitcase and decorate the inside with patterned paper. I also decorated the inside of the lid with some pieces of the patterned paper. Graphic 45 papers are great to cut it into smaller pieces and used them as embellishments.

I hope you liked this quick and fun project.

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Altered Suitcase – Timi Konya

  1. This is FABULOUS!! Gotta try out something similar! Its just so pretty and arty- I hope the recipient likes it because I would LOVE to receive something like this!! You are magic!

  2. LOVE this altered suitcase. What a great way to display vacation/holiday photos and memorabilia : )

  3. This is just gorgeous!!!! I have been thinking about creating one of these for awhile, and now I feel like I shouldn’t wait any longer after seeing your wonderful project!

  4. love how you altered the suitcase, love the broken china on the straps. I have one of those paper mache cases too, I’d forgotten about it, great reminder to do something with it.

  5. This is an amazing project!
    I think I would actually like to make some of these for my kids with trip photos 🙂

