Altered Pencil Box – Aideen Fallon

Hi everyone,

Today Aideen (Pieces by Aideen), our Design Team member will share a project with you. This is altered pencilcase.

What you will need:

  • Box-I got mine on eBay
  • Paint
  • Glue
  • Ink
  • Papers
  • Pencils
  • Eraser

Here is an altered pencil box project I did using a plain card pencil box I purchased on eBay. This is what it looked like at first- It is just plain cardboard box with a nice metal snap closure.

I knew I wanted to use my graphic 45 ABC primer papers as they are cool vintage school themed papers. I painted the box with black acrylic paint all around except where I knew I would definitely be sticking papers.

I added some Tim Holtz tea dye distress ink to all the papers edges and stuck them onto the box.

Next I picked out a few matching embellies from my stash-a prima wooden clock piece, a Maya road kraft doily, a Tim Holtz Ticket, some rub-ons by 7 gypsies and a piece of trim.

And here are my goodies attached to the lid of my pencil box-of course I had to add a little bit of bling too!

Close up of my embellished area….. Then, I thought what would really finish this little box would be some matching pencils to pop inside!!

First, cut you papers to the length of your pencils and about 1 inch wide and roll them around you pencils to prepare them for the gluing. You can use any type of matte glue for example Glue n’ Seal by Ranger, Matte multi medium or good old PVA.

I decided to use my Glue n’ Seal as it comes with a handy built in brush for easy application-I covered the paper in glue and rolled it around the pencil, I then used an elastic band to hold it in place-30 minutes should do it!

And here is the finished set-I also just wrapped my eraser with a little scrap of paper just to complete the set.

These could be made for anyone of any age & to any style or how about a pencil holder or desk tidy??

Happy crafting,

Aideen x

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Altered Pencil Box – Aideen Fallon

  1. I LOVE this!!!!!!!! I love not only the wonderful papers and embellishments you used on your box, but also the fact that you decorated your pencils!!! They are so pretty!

  2. This is too adorable! 🙂

  3. Awesome post,this pencil case is cool.Thanks for sharing important post with us.

