Autumn Layout – Mary Jo Rhoda

Hi everyone,

Today we are going to show you an Autumn layout project created by Mary Jo, our DT member.

Mary Jo says:

“I have always loved the way the autumn leaves change colors. It is one of my favorite times of year, and one of the reasons my husband and I chose to be married in the fall.

For our fourteenth wedding anniversary, we celebrated with a small getaway up to Canada. We were both blown away by the beautiful scenery up where we were staying.

For this layout of photos from that trip, I wanted to represent the colors and feeling of Autumn and the Indian Summer line by Basic Grey did the trick for me. ”

What you will need:

  •  Cardstock for your background (kraft or neutral color)
  •  Patterned Paper
  •  Alphabet stickers
  •  A variety of fall themed embellishments and stickers
  •  Tags
  •  Mist

Step 1

 Cut a block of solid or light patterned paper for a large photo mat. Layer photos side by side with just a little overlap.

Step 2

 Place border sticker down the left hand side. Also place scalloped patterned paper strip at the bottom of photo mat. Place alphabet stickers along the top. Add two leafy border stickers to frame photos and a leaf sticker next to part of the title.

Extra note: In the finished layout, you will see that I changed the “love” stickers to match the letter stickers for the word “in”. I also removed the circle sticker. I wasn’t happy with either after I had taken the photo and started placing embellishments.

Step 3

I misted two tags using a leafy border sticker and Tattered Angels glimmer mist. In the end, I only ended up using one of the tags for my journaling. Make sure to let your tags dry before working with them!

Step 4

After printing up my journaling on a piece of paper, I attached my tag exactly where I wanted my words to go. I then ran my paper with tag through the printer again.

Step 5

Now the fun part of embellishing! I used two leaf border stickers to frame my photos. The wood veneer people are resting on a leaf sticker. Under one of the photos, I have a fall themed sticker and strip of wood grain washi tape. And then for design purposes, a visual triangle of three clusters using buttons, foam leaves and stickers.

 

We hope you like this fantastic layout.

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

 

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Autumn Layout – Mary Jo Rhoda

  1. This is great! Autumn is our favorite time of the year too – so we’re also getting married in the fall!

    The papers and photographs in this layout are great. I love how you got the type on the tag! I always wondered how people do it (and now I feel silly because I should’ve been able to figure that out!)

