Box Flower Tutorial – Robin Funge

Hi everyone,

Today Robin, our DT member will show you a fun tutorial on how to make box flowers.

Robin says:

“For a fun way to add demension to your projects why not try a box flower. You can layer them as high as you like, as well as make them shabby or clean and simple looking! This is a neat way to use up those scraps and really make them steal the show!!”

What you will need:

  • Patterned paper of your choice (double sided or solid cardstock recommended)
  • Circle punches or circle dies (I used 2” & 3” scalloped circle punches)
  • Adhesive to secure flower (I like glue dots for instant fixing)
  • Brad or button for center

Step 1

Start out by punching or die cutting your circles. For each box flower you will only need 4 circles. For this example I am doing a two layered box flower, so I am showing you 8 circles, 4 of the 2” and 4 of the 3”.

Step 2

Fold all your circles in half. I just used my fingers to do this.

Step 3

Layer folded circles with alternating ends on top (like you’re folding a box).

Step 4

Apply adhesive of choice under each flap to keep flower secured and in place. You can use any adhesive for this, but I find glue dots quick and instant!

Step 5

Repeat process with smaller circles this time.

Step 6

Place smaller box flower on top and secure to larger box flower using brad though the centre or adhesive. Once dry, you can fluff up the flower with your hand to give it more dimension. Double sided paper or solid cardstock is best when making these flowers since you can see the underside of the paper when finished.

I used my box flower for the main embellishment of this anniversary card!

Want a shabby version of the box flower? Why not spray punched circles with spray mist or water, crumple up for a minute and then make box flower as above!!

We hope you all like this very easy but fun flower tutorial.

Happy Crafting

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft

Post navigation

One thought on “Box Flower Tutorial – Robin Funge

  1. B_Button

    Thanks, Robin, for the great tutorial. If it weren’t already past 1 a.m., I’d start punching and scrunching and folding right now, but I know I’d still be at it hours later. Besides, I’m sure it will take a while to find suitable punches and just the right paper, but I’ll start my quest later in the morning.

