From Trash to Treasue – Krissy Clark

Hi everyone,

Today Krissy is going to show you a fantastic project, another recycling project this week.

Krissy Says:

“It’s no secret that I love to re-purpose and upcycle things, so I am always on the lookout for yard sale items or things that might be thrown away.  On this day, I found an old tin in a box in my attic.  It was pretty beat up, and I was a little surprised that I hadn’t thrown it away years ago.

I decided to combine it with two of these drawer knobs that I found on clearance in a hardware store to see what I could create.”

Supplies Used

  • Small tin
  • Two drawer knobs
  • Paint
  • Scrapbook papers (I used Graphic 45 Le Cirque)
  • Picture Wire
  • Wire Clippers
  • Hack Saw
  • Super Glue
  • Glossy Accents
  • Gel Medium
  • Wooden Barbecue Skewer (or two toothpicks)
  • Charms and embellishments

First, I used my tin as a template and traced out and cut my scrapbook papers to size.  I applied a coat of gel medium to the tin as well as to the back of my scrapbook paper so that I would get even coverage with no air pockets.  I also applied a light coat of gel medium to the top of my paper and let it dry.

Once the inside of my tin was completed, I repeated the same process to the outside of the tin.  While my papers were drying, I used the time to fussy cut pictures that I wanted to use from my scrapbook papers.  I outlined my cut-out shapes in black marker, and I applied a very light coat of gel medium to the front of each shape to provide a bit more solidity.

Because I have a circus theme, I wanted to create a tightrope.  I used a small sharp nail to hammer a hole in opposite top and bottom corners of my tin.  I then threaded picture wire through the holes.

I cut the excess piece of picture wire with my wire clippers and glued down the ends with super glue.

The base of my piece is created from the top of the tin.  I used my nail to punch a hole in the center of the tin.  Then I covered it in scrapbook paper, again using a gel medium to adhere the paper to the tin top.  The screw on my drawer knob was too long so I cut most of it off with a hack saw.  I screwed in the shortened screw of the knob to my tin top and used the nut to keep it in place.

I used super glue to glue a small flat washer to the top of my knob for a little added stability, which would be needed once I connected the pieces of my tin.

The next step was to connect the top of my tin to the base I created.  I used super glue and allowed it to set completely before I moved on to my next step.

While my glued parts were setting, I used my hack saw to cut the screw completely off the second drawer knob.  I then super glued it to the top of my piece.  I also allowed this to set completely before I moved on to the next step.

I covered the open edge of my tin in Tim Holtz tissue tape, then adhered colorful jewels around the edges of my tin.  I used Glossy Accents to stick my paper elephant to the picture wire.

I used stickles and small self-adhesive jewels to decorate my paper images.  Glossy accents was applied to keep them firmly in place on my tin.  My clown acrobat was simply cut in two pieces, with his bottom half glue outside the tin and his top half glued inside the tin.  The banner was created by breaking a barbecue skewer in two pieces (you could also use toothpicks) and gluing each end of the paper around the pieces.

My last step was to add small charms to the bottom and side of my tin.  These were also glued in place using Glossy Accents.

This is the finished piece:

We hope you liked this brilliant tutorial on how to use up simple house hold items to create a beautiful piece of art.

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “From Trash to Treasue – Krissy Clark

  1. Felicia

    Beautiful project Krissy!! love the use of the door knobs.

  2. Love what you did with that tin Krissy esp the banner!
    x

