Halloween Layout by Mary Jo Rhoda

Hi everyone,

Today we are going to share a new project from Mary Jo, our fantastic DT member.

Mary Jo says:

“We love to celebrate Halloween here, and every year our decorations get more and more elaborate. But it’s not just our home that we decorate! Each year our children’s school sponsors a trick or treat activity in which several parents decorate their vehicles like you would a house for Halloween. We then park the cars in a big circle on the school parking lot so the children can go trick or treating from car to car and collect candy. This is also known as “Trunk or Treat.” The past three years my husband has done a great job coming up with a theme for his black truck, and I have to say that I think he outdid himself last year since we won the first prize trophy! So I decided to create a layout highlighting his Trunk or Treat success.”

What you will need:

Black cardstock
Patterned Paper
Matching Letter and Shape Stickers

I used the Eerie line by Basic Grey for my layout

Step 1

The first thing I usually do is mat my photos and lay them out. Once I had decided where I wanted my photos, I used  letter stickers to create my title at the top.

Step 2

Since our theme was Harry Potter, I decided to also use an orange lightning bolt sticker to punch up my title a bit. I also added the poison stamp sticker, which made me think of potions, and a block of patterned paper between the two photos on the right.

Step 3

To finish out my layout, I added my journaling block which I decided to handwrite rather than type. The block is matted on a piece of patterned paper. One small block of patterned paper at the top right next to the smaller photo, balances the journaling. I liked that patterned paper with spiders because there are so many references to spiders in the movie. A few candy corn stickers to go with the trick or treat theme form a visual triangle. As do the three lightning bolt stickers.

And there you have it! A layout documenting one of our favorite Halloween activities!

Wasn’t this quick tutorial just fabulous? The grid composition is great when you have multiple photos.

We hope you liked it too,

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Halloween Layout by Mary Jo Rhoda

  1. Robin Funge

    certainly not surprised you won…. what a fun idea and layout!!!
    Robin

  2. OMG love the trunk or treat thing, fab work! Layout fits perfect x

  3. I love the grid! It really highlights the photos so nicely! And the pattern papers you chose are perfect!

