Altered Christmas Decoration – Aideen Fallon

Hi Everyone,

Today Aideen is going to show us a little technique on altering a birdhouse.

Here is what Aideen says:

“Have you heard of people altering items and wondered what it was all about? Or have you seen altered projects and thought I would love to try that but you weren’t sure where to start?

Well here is a quick altered decoration and altering guide.

All the items used are things you would have in your stash anyways and it’s nice to try something new.”

What you will need:

  • Something to alter (start with something small and quick like this birdhouse decoration)
  •  Patterned paper
  •  Ruler
  •  Wet glue & paint brush
  •  Paint/ ink/ glitter glues/ liquid appliqué …..whatever you have really.
  •  Embellishments
  •  Hot glue/ glossy accents

Step 1

Ok, so step one for me always is to pick out the papers I want to use, I will then paper the areas I want to cover. So, go in with your ruler and measure the areas you are covering. It’s very simple with something small like this decoration.

Cut out your patterned paper to fit the area and glue them on using your favourite wet glue. Today I used Claudine Hellmuth’s matte multi medium.

Use a paint brush to spread the glue and stick on your papers.

I also added a thin layer of glue over the papers to seal them.

This is what my decoration looks like now with the papered areas.

I decide to use blue Christmassy papers so I next went in with my matching blue paint and painted the remaining areas and also the edges of the whole piece.

Now I had a root throught my embellishments for something small to add to the front and found this little wreath topper.

The colours weren’t exactly what I wanted but no worries anything can be altered so let’s alter the little wreath-I took off the gold beads and added some silver and blue bling stars! Already looking better….

I felt it was still a bit green so I went in with some ‘Waterfall’ stickles over the green areas.

While rooting throught my supplies for the Stickles, I found my liquid appliqué. So I added this around the roof. You leave this to dry overnight and then go over it with your heat gun and……

TAA-DAA snow!!!!

Because this is a little birdie house-it needs a little birdie-back for a stash root and I found this little Prima resin birdie, shall we alter him?

Ok then… go in with your ink pad. Here I used a blue Prima chalk pad and just lightly swiped it over the little birdie.

Now just attach your wreath using a heat gun and your birdie using some glossy accents and there you have it a little altered project.

Once you start altering you won’t want to stop, its so much fun. I hope you enjoyed this project.

Why not try a little altered project and share with us on the Crafting Ireland Facebook page…  Just go for it!!!

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Altered Christmas Decoration – Aideen Fallon

  1. love the altered ornament, it’s very cute, may have to go looking for some.

  2. Super, super cute!!! 🙂

  3. Awww thats adorable! x

