Altered Romantic Frame – Aideen Fallon

Hi everyone,

 

Today Aideen, our DT member is going to show us an  altered romantic frame. You can make it a Valentine’s projects or just a vintage frame too.

 

This is what Aideen says:

I just love altering and 3D projects. This frame I made for my Aunt and Uncle over in America for their birthdays.

What you will need:

A plain wooden or kraft frame (mine is kraft)

Paints: plain and crackle

Hot glue

Embellishments: these amazing roses are made by More Paper Than Shoes, you have to check out her online store, you can get any colour and all types of flowers made by Anna and she even teaches online classes!

 aideen1

First I painted the frame a deep red colour.

aideen2

Then I painted a thin layer of the light cream “linen” paint and added splashes of my favourite paint to use Tim Holtz crackle. It is just fab, I applied it to large areas of the frame using my finger!

The crackle cracks right down to the red layer giving you a nice little touch of the red.

aideen3

I then just hot glued on some prima leaves and the gorgeous roses. The frame is just all about these roses and I think they just make it a stunning piece. (I have been hoarding these roses for a good year now but so happy to have FINALLY used them).

aideen4

 

We hope you liked this altered frame tutorial,

 

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

 

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Altered Romantic Frame – Aideen Fallon

  1. lovely altered frame, love the crackling with the red peeking through, and the flowers are gorgeous.

  2. Your project! I love the crackle technique of the frame. Gotta love flowers 😉

  3. Sandra Smith

    Beautiful frame and a wonderful gift. Anna’s roses are awesome. I have taken one class from Anna and I am currently taking another.

  4. I LOVE crackle. What a perfect frame for a picture like this.

