St. Patrick’s Day layout – Mary Jo Rhoda

 

Hi everyone,

Today Mary Jo is sharing a great St Patrick’s Day layout. For more of her beautiful layouts visit her blog.

 St. Patrick’s Day Layout

We love St. Patrick’s Day, but have realized that since our kids were born we don’t quite celebrate the same as we did in the early days of our marriage. I thought it would be fun to document how we do celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with the kids.

What you will need:

Cardstock

Patterned paper

Embellishments

Mist

Stickers

Alphabet Letters

 

Step 1

I decided to use the Fabulous line by Simple Stories because I loved this patterned paper with the bingo cards. That green “fabulous” card at the top went well with my photo and I thought it would be a great element to use on my page.

st pats one

Step 2

As you will see in the photo, I started out with a misted background on my cardstock. That will change a little bit later in my process.

I decided to use a journal block cut from another piece of patterned paper and the bingo card along with the photos as my main design block.

st pats two

 

Step 3

I created my title at the top using chipboard letters and smaller letter stickers that complemented the colors of the layout and photos. I love adding titles to photos in the open spaces! And the little pink letter stickers fit perfectly at the top.

I then went on to create a visual triangle with my embellishments – a flower, piece of flair, and sticker cluster.

 

st pats three

 

Step 4

At that point I decided I just didn’t like the misted background at all. It felt too messy and distracting to me. Since my daughter’s sign involved paint, I decided to use more of a paint splatter with my mist. So I gently took everything from my page and added a few splatters of mist by removing the nozzle and tapping on the tube over my paper in two of the corners.

I then added my journaling to the card and matted it on white cardstock to help it stand out a little more. My focal point photo is matted on pink patterned paper to also help it pop out.

st pats four

Step 5

Once I replaced all of my paper, photos and embellishments, I decided the layout needed a little bit more pink to mix in with the green paint. So I used a punch that makes confetti, some patterned paper and a few enamel dots.

st pats five

Step 6

Here is my completed layout. Not quite the same as how it started, but I think the paint splatters work much better! And now one of our favorite holidays is documented.

 

st pats six

Beautiful Layout!! Thank You Mary Jo for sharing this St. Patrick’s Day Project with us.

What is your favourite project for St. Patrick’s Day? Share it with us on our Facebook page!

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day layout – Mary Jo Rhoda

  1. Hi there,

    I just love your magazine.

    I was wondering if you could possibly help me advertise a workshop I’m hosting. It’s to help raise funds for my friend Gaynor who is looking for sponsorship to do a 112km trek in aid of the Irish Cancer Sco   Regards,

    Niamh

    ________________________________

  2. I don’t scrapbook, but this is the kind of layout I like to see others do–simple, to the point, uncluttered, great focal point. Nice work, Mary Jo (and a cute daughter, too). I liked the misting, but think the final product is better. Gotta trust your gut, huh?

  3. those alphas are perfect for the st. patty’s theme. love the grid layout of the page ❤

  4. Great layout, love the green and pink color combo 🙂

  5. I love how you re-did your background when you were not happy with it (not that your background was bad by any means – I liked both of them!)

