Bucket of Spring – Abby Henderson

Hi All,

Today we are going to share a fabulous idea by Abby

Abby says:

“Who doesn’t like receiving flowers right? Well today I’m going to show you a tutorial on how you can create your own paper flowers that you can give to a friend or whomever you choose and the best thing about these is that they will be in bloom forever.”

Items used in the project:

  • Pink Paislee Christy Tomlinson She Art collection
  • 3 Girl Jam Crinkle Ribbon: Tuxedo, Aqua Splash, Coral Crush, Goblin Green
  • Tim Holtz Distress inks: Peeled Paint, Black Soot, Dusty Concord
  • Scor-tape
  • Metal floral bucket
  • Floral Foam
  • Glossy Accents
  • Wood dowels
  • Craft paint
  • Green organza

 

Step 1

Select the papers you want to use for the flowers

Step 1

Step 2

You’ll want to get your dowels painted before you begin working on the flowers so they have time to dry. I’ve found that placing the dowels in a piece of craft foam holds them nicely during the painting/drying process

Step 2 Pic 3

Step 3

I’ve been making these paper flower buckets for a couple of years now so I have quite a collection of various flower templates. Select the types of flowers you want for your project. I used an erasable pencil so any marks left could be easily removed.

Step 3 Pic 1

 Next you’ll place your template on your card stock and begin tracing around them.Once I had all my flowers cut I laid them out in the order I was going to assemble them.

Step 3 Pic 2

Step 4

Now that the flowers are all cut, the next step is to personalize them. For this tutorial I chose to use a couple of different distress techniques. You can of course keep your flowers in their original state if you prefer that look. I used my distressing tool on the edges of some of the flowers. I really like how the distressed edge gives the flowers additional texture.

Step 4 Pic 1

Next I selected the inks I wanted to use on the flowers and then inked the distressed edges.

Step 4 Pic 4

For the remaining flowers I spritzed them with some water and then crumpled them up into a ball. I then used my heat tool to dry them. Here you can see how doing this technique gives the flowers additional texture and a different distressed look.

Step 4 Pic 7

Step 5

Now you’ll start shaping and assembling your flowers. I used my fingers to curl up the edges of the flowers so they wouldn’t be flat.  After curling all the edges I added a dimensional adhesive dot to each layer. The dimensional dots add some height to your layers and make the flowers appear more realistic.

Step 5 Pic 2

Step 5 Pic 4

Step 6

Now that the dowels (stems) are dry, you can start putting everything together. Apply some Glossy Accents to the backside of your flower base. You can use hot glue if you prefer. Once you have all your dowels attached to the backs of your flowers, give the Glossy Accents some time to dry. This part doesn’t take that long. While I was waiting I began on the next step.

Step 6 Pic 1

Step 7

I cut some small strips of green organza and put a small staple at the bottom. I used some Scor-tape to adhere these to the back of the flower This is what you want the back to look like when you’re done. The purpose of this is to hide the top of the dowel and the adhesive you used to adhere the front and back flowers together. Once you are done with this step, you will repeat the same process with the Glossy Accents for your flowers that go on the backside. Next I chose some Crinkle Ribbon, Twine and buttons for the centers of my flowers

Step 7 Pic 3

Step 7 Pic 5

Once you have your flowers all assembled you will insert them into your floral bucket that has the craft foam inside. To cover the foam and base of the dowels, you can tuck fabric, tissue paper or burlap in and around the base of the dowels. For this project I chose to use burlap. This is such a fun and easy project that will put a smile on anyone’s face when they receive your bucket of custom handmade paper flowers.

Final Pic 1

Final Pic 5

What a great idea!! Big thank you for Abby!

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Bucket of Spring – Abby Henderson

  1. Very springy! I understand you’d enjoy a bit of spring in Ireland. The organza ribbon is an unexpected, but lovely, touch. It gives the flowers a bit more oomph, as do the ribbons, buttons and patterned papers. Nicely done.

