Project Life – The start

Hi everyone,

It is Timi here and  I will try and collect just a few ideas for those who (like me) like the idea of project life and want to get started. I wanted to start project life this year, but I found it difficult to get the whole Propject Life Kit here in Ireland, and if you are on a budget, like many of us, then you may prefer to create your own binder and gather ideas that aren’t that difficult to follow.

On page 39 in Issue 16 I showed you how I created my own binder with some Studio Calico plastic pocket pages.

??????????

Photos

I take photos with my phone but I also have my camera with me all the time. It is great to follow Becky Higgins on Facebook, she posts about photo inspiration quite a lot. Checking those posts out I found that you can take pictures of the smallest things if it has something to tell you, it will be  a great little additions in your 2013 Project Life book.

I try to do one page spread for one week, but sometimes I have no pictures/photos from that week, so I try to fill with thing like this:

  • Films that we recently watched (and then just find a picture of the dvd cover or film poster and put it into my binder)
  • Music I like to listen to nowadays
  • Quotes I heard/read
  • Funny/interesting conversations on the radio

There are so many things that I can’t get pictures of but I would like to remember, so I fill those “photo-less” spreads with these.

Printing photos

I get my photos printed in bulk from a company on the internet eg. Photobox.ie, Snapfish.ie.

But still it is very handy to have a printer at home that prints quality pictures, because sometimes you just want a picture or two printed.

There are a good range of printers available here in Ireland that print decent photo quality. Some people have just photo printers, but I prefer to have a printer that can print photos and other things as well.

Filler cards and journalling cards

The internet is an endless source of Project Life freebies. You can find great collections on Pinterest and even if you just Google project life freebies you get lots of results. One Velvet Morning is a blog where the fantastic owner, Tanika,  has collected lots and lots project life freebies. Please visit her blog and show her some love.

It is a good idea to create a project life folder on your computer and download freebies or digi papers and whenever you need a filler card or a journalling card, you can easily print them. You can also print a bunch at a time and keep it in a box and just use them up as you go.

??????????

If you don’t own a printer that you can look at buying paper collections that do 4×6 and 3×4 cards and journalling cards in their collections:

  • Simple Stories
  • Studio Calico
  • Echo Park paper
  • Cosmo Cricket etc…

One of my favorites is Simple Stories and Echo Park paper, because they always have lot of stickers in their collections that can add some interests to your pages.

Embellishments

My idea about project life is that the emphasis is not really on the embellishing but more on the memory keeping aspect of it. So I only use a few embellishments:

Washi tapes

Chipboard shapes

Flair buttons

I have a small collection of these three embellishments, some I buy at the great little shop called Scrapfellow.

DSCN0701

DSCN0698

Titles

Adding titles or week numbers to the pages can be done in different ways. Here you can use all the stickers that come in the paper collections or you can download freebies again.

I really enjoy to create my own titles in Inkscape and cut it out with my eCraft. In Inkscpae it is quite easy to create svg cutting files and it is a free program. Maybe I should write some tutorials on how to use Inkscape…

printscreen

So this is only the beginning, we will be back with more ideas and some tutorials as well,

So happy crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft, Information | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

