Bookmark – Katya Ivanova

Hi everyone,

Today Katya is showing us what to do with those small pieces of paper that are lying around.

This is what she says:

“To those of you who like myself love to read but always use just any piece of paper that is lying around as a bookmark- this tutorial is for you.”
What you will need:

  • cardstock
  • fleece
  • fabric
  • lace
  • ribbon
  • distress ink
  • patterned paper
  • embellishments

step 1

Step 1

Use some cardstock as a base of our bookmark, mine is the package that was left over from an embossing folder. It measures 17cmX6cm. Also we need to pieces of fleece that measure to be the same size as the base.

step 2
Step 2

Glue all three layers together and lay on the riverce side of our piece of material (mine is a shirt which I ruined in the wash).

step 3
Step 3

When you cut off excess material, make sure you leave a bit extra, as in this step we will fold the extra material over and glue it to the base.
step 4
Step 4

Add some lace and ribbon to the book mark
step 5
Step 5

Stitch around the book mark, this step has not worked as well as I hoped for me- my sewing machine wasn’t able to stitch though such thickness so I had to do it by hand. One bend needle and two broken needles later I managed to stitch around the bookmark.
step 6
Step 6

Set it an eyelet.
step 7
Step 7

Cover the back with distressed patterned paper
step 8
Step 8

Pull some twine though the eyelet and decorate it with beads

step 9

and here is the finished bookmark!! Isn’t is pretty?

036

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Bookmark – Katya Ivanova

  1. Claire O'Sullivan

    Katya, absolutely gorgeous. I would have to find a way around the sewing lark unfortunately as I have a beautiful sewing machine still in the box it came in a few years ago. I would find a way around it nevertheless.

