Canvas mini Album – Abby Henderson

Hi everyone,

today is another day for a great tutorial from our fantastic DT. This time Abby is going to show us a pretty canvas mini album.

Abby says:

“I wanted to repurpose some canvas sheets I salvaged from an estate sale so I decided to use them in a mini album. “

What you will need:

  • Canvas sheets
  • Card stock/Paper Collection
  • Distress Ink
  • Liquid Adhesive (your choice)
  • Trims/flowers/embellishments
  • Gesso
  • Craft paint/inks
  • Hole Punch
  • Jute/Twine
  • Glossy Accents

Step 1

I cut the canvas sheets into a 12×12 sheet.

Step 1 Pic 1

Then I cut the sheet in half to create two 6×12 pieces.

Step 1 Pic 2

Then I cut those pieces in half to create 6×6 squares of canvas.

Step 1 Pic 3

Step 1 Pic 4

Step 2

I punched 3 holes in each piece of canvas for the binding.

Step 2 Pic 1

I used a combination of Gesso and some craft paints to cover each canvas square.

Step 2 Pic 2

I wanted to create some texture for the front cover so I added a strip of some textured tape.

Step 2 Pic 3

Once the squares were dry, I did some light sanding on the edges to give them a distressed look.

Step 2 Pic 4

For the cover and back page I adhered some metal rings using Glossy Accents.

Step 2 Pic 5

Step 2 Pic 6

Lastly I used some Distress Ink on the edges of all the canvas sheets before I began embellishing the pages.

Step 2 Pic 7

Step 3

I wanted to use some of the scraps of canvas I cut earlier in the mini itself so I used some sprays to create texture and background.

Step 3 Pic 1

In the next few photos you can see how this looked once the page was complete.

Step 3 Pic 2

Step 3 Pic 3

Step 3 Pic 4

 Step 4

To create additional texture on a chipboard element I was using on the front cover, I used more of the canvas.

Step 4 Pic 1

Step 4 Pic 2

Step 5

Next I embellished each page with the paper collection I chose to use along with some flowers, embellishments and trims. Once all the pages were completed I assembled the mini together using some Jute Twine.

Step 5


This is such an easy project and a great way to repurpose some old craft items you find along the way.

Final Pic 10

Final Pic 11

Final Pic 1

Check out the pages inside:

Final Pic 6

Final Pic 5

Final Pic 3

Final Pic 6

Isn’t it fantastic!? If you try and repurpose some canvas sheets, let us know and post your pictures on our Facebook page

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

