Memo Board Frame

I had a small wooden picture frame waiting to be altered and decided to turn it into a mini memo board.

Step 1

Paint the frame in a base coat. I used a light blue from a tester pot of paint.

Step 2

Take some modeling paste and some acrylic paint (I used teal blue). Put some of each out on a craft mat to mix the colour.

step 1

I used the end of a paint brush to mix the two together….
step 2

The colour of the paint tends not to be lightened too much by the paste. You could paint over the modeling paste afterwards but I wanted the texture paste to be a different colour on the top of the frame so I mixed my paste directly.step 3

Step 3

I don’t have a pallet knife so I used an old card to spread the paste through the mask onto the frame in one or two places.

step 4

Step 4

For the extra paste that was on the stencil I used this like a stamp onto the rest of the frame. This gave a raised stamped effect on the rest of the frame.step 5

Step 5

I gathered embellishments I thought I may use (I didn’t end up using all of these ones and added a few more along the way). I inked all the tickets and note cards up to age them and added some faint crackle stamping on some of them too.step 6

Step 6

For inside the frame I took some ledger paper from Sarah Hurley and inked it up and stamped her crackle background stamp over it too. I again wanted it to look aged and textured.step 7

I put this all together and called it done. Here you can see a close up of the embellishment cluster on the frame….

close up 1

And the wonderful dimension given by the texture paste….close up 2

The finished product used as a memo board. A non permanent marker writes on the glass and wipes off super easily when done.finished 1

Here it is with no writing on it just to show the inside a bit more….finished 2

I hope you enjoyed this quick and fun way to alter a picture frame into a little memo board. You could use any size frame for this of course and scale it up quite a lot!

Happy Crafting,

Nicole

Categories: craft | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

