Masking Tape Technique – Andrea Ockey Parr

Hi everyone,

Today Andrea is showing us a great masking tape technique to create dimension on your project.

Andrea says:

“Want to add some texture to your artwork?  Look no further than your trusty roll of masking tape!  Here’s all you need to add some dimensional oomph to your projects.”

  • Sturdy patterned paper
  • Masking tape
  • Gesso
  • Acrylic paint
  • Stamps
  • Ink
  • Paper/ephemera

To start my collage, I glued a piece of vintage textbook paper to a piece of patterned paper.  You can add as many or as few papers and patterns as you’d like.

Tape 1

I crinkle and wrinkled some strips of masking tape as I stuck them to my paper.

Tape 2

I painted over the top of the paper and tape with gesso and acrylic paint.

Tape 3

For even more visual interest, I used several different colors and shades of paint.

Tape 4

I let my project dry, then I cut my background down to a postcard-sized rectangle.  I inked around the edges and added more ink here and there for some depth.  For most projects, I apply ink with a wedge-shaped make-up sponge.

Tape 5

After inking the edges, I stamped several images on top with darker colored ink.

Tape 6

Masking tape is one of the cheapest and easiest ways to go 3D with your paper projects.  And if you’re going to do one collage, you might as well build a few more at the same time.  That way, you’ll always be prepared when your creative muse descends.

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

