Halloween Mini Album – Mary Jo Rhoda

Hi everybody,

Back again with another Halloween project. Are you excited about Halloween already?

Today Mary Jo is sharing a Halloween Mini with us.

Mary Jo says:

Halloween is a favorite holiday in our home! We celebrate big every year with some fun and familiar traditions. I wanted to capture some of the memories from Halloween last year. A mini album seemed the perfect format to do this since I could include several photos and journaling inside giving me more space than a traditional layout.

As you look through my album though, you may notice one goof. As I was punching the holes for my rings to bind the book, I realized I had punched holes on the wrong side for several pages. Instead of stressing and starting over, I decided to just go with the flow. This album is going in a basket of minis that I keep in our living room, so it will be handled a lot. And I am pretty sure my intended audience will not care one bit about a few extra holes. But just make sure that you line up your pages so they are facing the correct way whenever you go to punch holes for a mini!

What You Will Need:

Leftover cardboard or chipboard for album covers

Patterned Paper

Embellishments

Stamp Ink

Journal Spots

Pens

Hole Punch

Rings for Binding

 

Step 1

When I was looking at a pack of 100 4×6 plain project life cards by Becky Higgins, I knew that there were a ton more than I probably needed! Then the thickness of the cards made me think of the pages of a mini album. So I decided to use some of the cards to create pages for my Halloween mini.

issue18step1miniMaryJo

 

Step 2

I also noticed the cards were the exact same size as my photos, and I love the look of using a photo as the entire page. So I glued each photo to one of the Project Life cards. I knew at this point that I was going to follow a pattern of an embellished page with journaling next to a photo page.

issue18step2miniMaryJo

Step 3

I then took a piece of cardboard that I had kept on hand from a scrapbook package I had received in the mail. The cardboard had been used to back some patterned paper so it wouldn’t get bent during shipment. I cut it the down to the same size as my photos for my front and back covers. From then on my process was pretty simple.

issue18step3miniMaryJo

I decorated my cover with patterned paper, chipboard and stickers.

Issue18miniMaryJo

 

Each page follows a similar theme – patterned paper, borders, a journal spot, and some embellishments. I decided to use chalkboard stickers by American Crafts because they worked really well with my white pen.

issue18miniMaryJo1

And here are the rest of the pages from my album.

Issue18miniMaryJo2

issue18miniMaryJo3

issue18miniMaryJo4

issue18miniMaryJo5

issue18miniMaryJo6

issue18miniMaryJo7

I hope you enjoyed seeing my little mini album today. And that it gets you in the mood for some Halloween scrap time!

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Halloween Mini Album – Mary Jo Rhoda

  1. Adorable mini, love that since the book is 4×6, the photos really stand out!

  2. Love love love love this!! Great colors and loving the photos!!!!

  3. What a great mini!! Love how you used the project life cards and the way you set up the album! Super fun photos, too! 🙂 Evie

  4. I love this mini! What a great way to use the Project Life cards. I really like the pattern of papers then photos – it looks wonderful!

