The love of Purple – Altered Canvas – Abby Henderson

Hi everyone,

Today we are back with a mixed media canvas tutorial by Abby.

Abby says:

“This is a mixed media canvas that not only represents the color I love most, purple, but it also showcases some products from companies that I love and use in my daily crafting along with some of my favorite techniques and textures. “

What you will need:

  • Burlap Canvas
  • Sprays/Glimmer Mists (colors of your choice)
  • Embossing Powder/Perfect Medium
  • Flower Soft
  • Distress Tool
  • Ribbons/Trims of your choice
  • Letters (I used a die but any type will work)
  • Flowers
  • Adhesive of your choice
  • Additional embellishments of your choice

Step 1

Spray your burlap canvas with your choice of sprays in the colors you’ve chosen.

Step 1

Step 2

Next I cut my letters and used some clear embossing on them to give them a glossy look. I then took a doodling pen to outline the letters.

Step 2 Pic 1

Step 2 Pic 2

Step 2 Pic 3

Step 3

I had a stenciled image left over from another project so I used my distress tool to fray the edges a bit.

Step 3 Pic 1

Step 3 Pic 2

Step 4

I wanted to create lots of texture on this heart tin so I covered it with Perfect Medium, then sprinkled it with a mixture of clear embossing powder and some Magicals from Lindys Stamp Gang.

Step 4 Pic 1

Step 4 Pic 2

Step 5

To give the wooden letter “P” some added texture, I covered it with some adhesive and covered it with the flower soft.

Step 5 Pic 1

Once all the items listed above were dry and ready to use, I began creating the layers for my canvas. This is where creative play comes in, my favorite part. I used some jute ribbon to create a hanger for the canvas. This is not only a way to showcase my favorite color, it’s also a great way to show all the techniques and products that I love most as a decorative display in my craft room.

Final Pic 1

Final Pic 6

Final Pic 2

Final Pic 3

Final Pic 4

We hope you are inspired by this great mixed media tutorial,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “The love of Purple – Altered Canvas – Abby Henderson

  1. Claire O'Sullivan

    Absolutely gorgeous. Thank you. I really love purple as well.

