Love Themed Journal Page

Hi all,

Nicole here with you today to share a journal page I had fun working on. This page all started with a piece of patterned overlay. I was inspired to use it on a double page spread and this is what happened!

What you will need:

  • Journal or watercolour paper
  • Paints – I used a blue shimmer paint and also some Luminart Primary Elements pigments. You could use any paints or inks for this depending on what you want your background to be like
  • Paint brushes, water
  • Strong adhesive
  • Elements to embellish the page with
  • Stencil and background stamps

Step 1

I started by putting down a thin layer of gesso on my pages to strengthen it up a bit. Once this was dry I started with a wash of blue paint. You can see in my image below I just put some paint from the tube directly on the page and then with a wet paintbrush blended it out.

pic 1

The Luminart pigments I used have a fantastic shimmer to them. They are in powder form and you have to mix them to get your paint. It is a few extra steps but I love the effect they give so I think its worth it! I tried to blend my colours together, building them up a few layers to get some really nice colour.pic 2a Step 2

When happy with the painted background stamp on your background stamp. I used a script stamp and teal stays on ink. I inked up the stamp, stamped it off on a scrap of paper and then onto the journal page. This gave me a more subtle stamping.pic 3 pic 4 You can see the stamping up close here but also the gorgeous effect the paints give in real life – this is probably the most true to colour picture I could get!pic 5 Step 3

Lay down your stencil and ink through it. I used peacock feathers distress ink. If you wanted to do any more painting or colouring at this stage you would need to use a more permanent ink than distress ink, as this will react with water or water based items. I was happy to go ahead and use it though!

pic 6 pic 7 I really love how the colour of this came out over the paints….pic 8 Step 4

Gather some embellishments for your page. I stamped out a bunch of flowers that I coloured with inktense pencils and added some shimmer to with a wash of the luminart pigments again.  I then cut them out to use on the page. pic 9 I also gathered a few other elements and placed them on the page, moving things around until I had a layout I thought I liked. The blue overlay in the centre is the item that set me off on this entire page!pic 10

Step 5

For some of the elements on the page, such as the journaling cards, I gave them a light wash coat of the same paints used on the background page. This tied them into the page better, they were cream coloured before and that didn’t really work.

Step 6

For the overlay, because it was so delicate I was afraid it would not hold up to being folded in half and opened and closed all the time. So I used my guillotine to cut it in half. I was then able to glue it down on each side and avoid the seam in the middle. The gap is not that noticeable and at least I am happy it will stay intact this way!

You can see the shimmer on the pages in the completed image below….

finished 1

Up close of the left page. I only stuck the elements down in the middle of them so that I could lift the edges for some dimension….finished 2

Close up of the right side page….finished 3

 

I hope you enjoyed this post on creating a simple page without the need for many supplies!

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Love Themed Journal Page

  1. Pingback: Love Journal Page | Home

  2. Claire O'Sullivan

    Absolutely gorgeous. Thank you Nicole.

