Project Life – Week 7

Hi everyone,

It is Timi here and today I am going to show you how I approached Week7 in my Project Life 2014.

The first thing I am going to talk about is digital printables.

If you have a printer at home or one close to you, it is a great way to bring some variety into your project life. I have used a Just Jaimee collection from Paislee Press. It is fantastic. I used some of the cards on the PL spread below, but I am sure that I will use them again and again.

Many of the files are in .png format, so you can customize the colour or add text or dates to the cards.

This time I printed the 4″x4″ date card. Originally there was a white border around it, but I cut that off. I chose a patterned paper from Studio Calico and used it as a background for the date card.

DSCN2074

Then I added some embellishments to it:

DSCN2075

I also printed two 4×6 journalling cards from the same collection  and cut them to 4×4 sizes to fit my pockets.

??????????

I really enjoy the freedom that these digital printable kits give me. There are such a variety in them and you can only print the ones you need.

The second thing I would like to show you is how I added a custom sized insert.

I got a really nice card for Valentine’s Day, but it didn’t fit any of the pockets in my spread. So I took a 6×8 page protector from Studio Calico and cut it down to fit my card. Unfortunately the holes on this page protector are spaced differently from the Becky Higgins page protectors.

DSCN2069

So I covered the side of the page protector with a washi tape and punched holes that would work with my album.

On the back I wanted to create a big journalling spot, so I went through my drawers and I found an old copy book. I tore some pages out and cut them to size. I really liked the pink line on the side of the page, so I tried to add washi tape without covering it.

DSCN2071

I also adhered a chipboard heart and some enamel dots in the corner of the page. This is how it turned out.

DSCN2073

When I take photographs of things I like or want to document, I try to leave some white space on the photo. I find it is  a great way to add journalling to the PL spread.

As you can see in the picture below there is a some paper peaking out underneath the photo itself. It happens sometimes that I trim the photo a little too small and it moves in the pocket. I don’t like things falling out of my album, so I just add some scrap paper in the right size and that will hold the photo in place. This time I used up some more form the old copy book…

??????????

My style in Project Life is happy colourful approach, but I try not to over embellish my spread. I really liked this card from the Studio Calico PL kit. I added a flair button and some journalling and it was ready to go into my album.

??????????

Here is the full spread and the insert of  Week 7.

??????????

??????????

??????????

I hope you like some of the ideas in this post and you will try them out in your own Project Life album.

Happy Crafting,

The Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

