Altered Clipboard – Nicole Mullen

Hi all,

Nicole here with a project for you today. I have had a wooden clipboard going from junk pile to junk pile in my house for ages. (Everyone knows those junk piles I speak of, right?!) So I decided to finally turn it into something useful for my house. It was pretty boring as it stood so out came the supplies and I got to altering it!

What you will need:

  • Clipboard
  • Gesso
  • Papers and paints to decorate
  • Embellishments
  • Adhesives – I used gel medium and glossy accents

Step 1

I covered my clipboard with a coat of gesso. This was to prime the surface for painting and decorating.

Step 2

I tore up a page of text printed paper to apply to the background. I was quite rough in my tearing and aimed to make the page roughly centered in the middle of the clipboard. I applied  the paper with gel medium.

pic 1

Step 3

I applied a thin wash of gesso over this to knock back the pattern of the paper a bit.

pic 2 Step 4

I used a palet knife to spread some teal paint onto the clipboard. I wanted the texture that this gives rather than using a paintbrush.pic 3 pic 4 Step 5

I stenciled in white paint over some parts of this.pic 5 Step 6
I used tissue paper to cover the metal clip on the board. I also applied some to the background of the board. I used gel medium to adhere it all.
pic 8 pic 9 pic 10 Step 7

I fussy cut an image from some Graphic 45 papers and glued this down with gel medium also.

pic 6

pic 11 Step 8

I cut some notebook paper down to size for note pages. I liked the grid pattern on the note paper so I used it instead of plain paper.

pic 7Step 9

I die cut a key from grunge paper and inked it black. I then added a layer of crackle paste. When dried I added some gold leaf gilding over this.pic 12 I added the note paper on using the clip from the board. I added the key to this section also.pic 13 I adhered a post it note block to the board for shorter quick notes that I can grab and take with me if needs be.pic 14 The bigger list if for more long term projects or commissions and keeping me on track!pic 15

I hope you enjoyed this and it gave you some ideas for creating to do lists from some odd materials!

Categories: craft | Tags: ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Altered Clipboard – Nicole Mullen

  1. Cool! This looks like a great project to do to pass the time some evening!

