You make my heart sing Card – Mary Jo Rhoda

Hi everyone,

Today Mary Jo is sharing a fantastic card idea with us.

This is what she says:

“I wanted to make a card using a watercolor technique and stenciling. I found a fun die cut stencil card in my scrapbook supplies that had the perfect sentiment for a card.

Using the stencil, watercolor pencils and a blender pen, I was able to create a card to share with my husband or anyone I love.”

What You Will Need:

  • A plain, white cardstock card
  • Patterned paper
  • Word or letter stencils
  • Black pen
  • Border punch
  • Watercolor pencils
  • Blender Pen

Step 1

Cut a piece of patterned paper that will fit your stenciled sentiment. If you have a die cut machine, you could always create your own sentiment. I had this premade die cut card from the

July 13 card1

Step 2

Use a fine point black pen that will not bleed, trace each individual letter onto the patterned paper.

July 13 card2

Step 3

Color each individual letter with your watercolor pens. As you can see on my photo, I didn’t color super carefully since I would be going over it with my blender pen. To me, watercolors have a little bit of a messy feel to them. I made sure to use colors that coordinated with the patterned paper.

July 13 card3

Step 4

Use the blender pen to go over each letter, blending the watercolor pencil.

July 13 card4

Step 5

Once I finished with my letters, I added a piece of patterned paper to the left. Then I used my scallop border punch to add a thin piece of paper to the right side. A small heart also cut from patterned paper in the same line, completed my card.

I think the watercolor effect gives the card a soft look which is what I was going for.

SONY DSC

We hope you liked this fabulous idea,

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “You make my heart sing Card – Mary Jo Rhoda

  1. Michelel H.

    Love your card and the tutorial! Isn’t it so fun to use water colors pencils?!
    They are so versatile!
    TFS!

  2. soaphousemama

    Mary Jo – this is so beautiful!!!

  3. Thank you!