Winter Muslin Gift Card Bag – Abby Henderson

Hi everybody,

Today Abby from our Design Team is going to share a tutorial on a gift bag

 Abby says:

“I wanted to come up with a creative and unique way to give someone a gift card that could be re-used if they wished or kept as a piece of art/décor if they chose to display it. This is a fun and easy way to give someone a gift card anytime of the year.”

What you will need:

  • Muslin bag (cotton will work as well)
  • Tree/branch stencil
  • Glimmer Sprays/Spritz (color of your choice)
  • Distress Paint (White Picket Fence)
  • Stickles (I used Star Dust)
  • Distress Marker (I used Walnut Stain)
  • Crinkle Ribbon
  • Wood embellishment piece
  • Craft Sand (white)
  • Heat Tool
  • Perfect Medium/Embossing Powder
  • Acrylic Wheat Spray (or foliage of your choice)
  • Adhesive of your choice (I used Scor-tape)

Step 1

Place your stencil on the muslin bag  then begin layering your sprays from dark to light . Once your done spraying, carefully lift the stencil and you’ll see your image on the bag . Tip-I always use the overspray that’s left on top of my stencils by reversing the stencil and pressing down on some blank card stock or other medium. This will give you a reverse image of your stencil that you can use on another project.

Step 1 Pic 2

Step 1 Pic 1

Step 1 Pic 3

Step 1 Pic 4

Step 1 Pic 5

Step 2

I wanted to define the lines of the tree/branches so I used my Tim Holtz Distress Marker in Walnut Stain. I then traced around the lines with some Star Dust Stickles.

Step 2 Pic 1

Step 2 Pic 2

Step 3

I wanted to add a wood element to the project since I had a tree theme for the bag so I used some Distress Paint to cover the wood piece. While the paint was still wet, I sprinkled some white craft sand on top to create an icy/snow effect. You can use your heat tool on this or set it aside to dry while you work on the rest of the project.

Step 3 Pic 1

Step 3 Pic 2

Step 4

To dress up the stamped sentiment, I used some embossing powder then added more Stickles to the circle tag.

Step 4 Pic 1

Step 4 Pic 2

Step 5

I used more of sprays on some crinkle ribbon so it had the same tones as the muslin bag.

Step 5

After all of my embellishments were dry, I began layering the different items on the muslin bag and used added my wheat spray and crinkle ribbon. This is always my favorite part, where you can just get creative with layering your items and creating the end result.  You can create this project for any theme or season throughout the year by just simply changing your stencil design and colors to suit the occasion. Don’t forget to include your gift card!

Final Pic 1

Final Pic 2

Final Pic 3

Final Pic 4

This is a great tutorial, I hope you liked it too.

Happy Crafting,

Crafting Ireland Team

Categories: craft | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Winter Muslin Gift Card Bag – Abby Henderson

  1. Pingback: Design Team Good Bye! | Home